Success Stories

  • Adjust Text Size
 

Samuel & Fils & Cie (Québec)

Industrial Sector

 

The Client

Samuel & Fils & Cie is among North America's top ten distributors of metals. The company operates more than 80 facilities that are located throughout Canada and the United States. The Company supplies carbon steel, stainless steel, aluminium and aerospace alloys in a range of grades, tempers, shapes and sizes.

Britton Electric’s Mandate

At the client’s Laval, Québec facility, Britton Electric was called upon to change a coil slitter’s control process from electromechanical to a computerized process. Additionally, Britton Electric surveyed all the existing wiring in the facility and created a set of single line electrical schematics for the entire building as well as for the metal transforming equipment.

The Scope of Work

Samuel & Fils & Cie (Québec)

A coil slitter uses a cold roll process to slit and transform metal. The client’s machinery consisted of 4 different components, each having its own control system. All the controls, from each component, were removed and one new integrated digital control system was installed.

The operations of the 4 components were interconnected, therefore the processes needed to be synchronized. Britton’s electricians changed the transformers, photocells and proximity switches. All new wiring was required and new process computers were installed. Drawings were produced of the final configuration including the electrical and control wiring.

The project was completed in 4 weeks and it required 1 project manager and 6 electricians.

Britton's Strengths

Britton's Specialized Expertise

  • Power distribution
  • Preventative maintenance
  • Industrial equipment installation
  • Plant set-up
  • Instrumentation and control
  • Motor control

What Britton’s people brought to the table

The ability to:

  • Provide a dedicated and professional team of electricians
  • Pay careful attention to all details
  • Keep up to date with the latest techniques
  • Complete a large project in a short period of time
ISO 9001:2000
© 2014 La Cie Electrique Britton Ltée

Exemples de réussite

  • Ajuster la taille du texte
 

Samuel & Fils & Cie (Québec)

Secteur Industriel

 

Le Client

Samuel & Fils & Cie Limitée est un des dix plus grands distributeurs de métaux en Amérique du Nord. La compagnie exploite plus de 80 établissements situés à travers le Canada et les États-Unis. L’entreprise fournit des alliages d'acier au carbone, d'acier inoxydable, d'aluminium ainsi que des alliages pour l'aéronautique dans une gamme complète de catégories, de duretés, de formes et de dimensions.

Le mandat de Britton

Le client a fait appel à La Cie Électrique Britton Ltée pour remplacer le processus de commande électro-mécanique d’une refendeuse de bobine et le remplacer par un processus informatisé à son installation de Laval (Québec). De plus, Britton a vérifié tout le câblage existant dans l’établissement et a créé un ensemble de schémas électriques unifilaires pour tout l’édifice ainsi que pour l’équipement de transformation de produits de métaux.

La portée des travaux

Samuel & Fils & Cie (Québec)

Une refendeuse à bobine utilise un processus de profilage à froid pour couper et transformer le métal. La machinerie du client comprenait 4 composantes différentes, chacune possédant son propre système de commande. Les commandes de chaque composante ont été retirées et un nouveau système de commande numérique intégré a été installé.

Le fonctionnement des 4 composantes étant interconnecté, il fallait synchroniser les processus. Les électriciens de Britton ont changé les transformateurs, les cellules photo-électriques et les commutateurs de proximité. Il a fallu remplacer tout le câblage, installer des ordinateurs industriels, et, ensuite produire les plans de la configuration finale, y compris le câblage électrique et le filage des commandes.

Durée du projet : 4 semaines.
Effectif : 1 gérant de projet et 6 électriciens.

Point forts de l’entreprise

Expertise et spécialité de Britton

  • Distribution d’énergie
  • Entretien préventif
  • Installation d’équipement industriel
  • Mise sur pied d’usine
  • Instrumentation et contrôle
  • Commande des moteurs

Les capacités particulières du personnel de Britton :

  • Fournir une équipe d’électriciens dévoués et professionnels
  • Avoir un grand souci de tous les détails
  • Rester au courant des techniques les plus récentes
  • Terminer un projet d’envergure dans un délai limite